Back to About Us

About Us

European Film Promotion

  • Michaela Coel in the upcoming Been So Long

Michaela Coel, UK's 2018 Shooting Star, in the upcoming Been So Long

British Council Film represents the UK as part of European Film Promotion (EFP), a network of European promotion and export agencies established in 1997 to promote and market European cinema - and the talent behind it - throughout the world.

Our membership of European Film Promotion means that UK producers and sales agents have access to Film Sales Support - funds to take their feature films to a range of specific non-European markets including Sundance and Hong Kong's Filmart.

In addition we focus our support on several EFP projects each year: Shooting Stars, which identifies emerging acting talent on the cusp of becoming internationally known and champions it at the Berlinale;  Producers on the Move, which provides young European producers with the opportunity to present their projects at Cannes; the related Producers Lab which takes Producers on the Move alumni to the Toronto International Film Festival; Voices of Women in Film at Sydney Film Festival; and Europe Goes Busan at the Busan Film Festival.

Shooting Stars in Berlin
Since 1998 Shooting Stars has presented upcoming actors from around Europe at Berlin International Film Festival. Many have gone on to become sought after names in cinema. British Council Film is responsible for nominating a British actor each year and has an enviable track record of selecting performers who were about to break onto international screens.

In 2018 we are delighted to nominate Michaela Coel, representing the best of UK acting talent following her small screen breakthrough with TV's Chewing Gum and anticipating her first big screen lead in Tinge Krishnan's Been So Long.

Watch a taster of Michaela's work:

British actors chosen as Shooting Stars by British Council Film in previous years include:

2015 - Maisie Williams
2014 - George MacKay
2012 - Riz Ahmed
2011 - Andrea Riseborough
2010 - Edward Hogg
2009 - Carey Mulligan 
2008 - Andrew Garfield
2007 - Kate Dickie
2006 - Lucy Punch
2005 - Archie Panjabi
2004 - Eva Birthistle
2003 - Jamie Sives
2002 - Lucy Russell
2001 - Kate Ashfield
2000 - Daniel Craig
1999 - Kelly Macdonald
1998 - Rachel Weisz

Producers on the Move
Since 2000, Producers on the Move has provided young European producers with the opportunity to present their projects at the Cannes International Film Festival.

Our previous Producers on the Move are:

2017 - Chris Martin
2016 - Lucas Ochoa
2014 - Tristan Goligher
2013 - Andrea Cornwell
2012 - Tracy O'Riordan
2011 - Sam Haillay
2010 - Isabelle Stead
2009 - Adrian Sturges
2008 - Laura Hastings-Smith
2007 - Elaine Wickham
2006 - Ken Marshall
2005 - Gayle Griffiths
2003 - Stella Nwimo
2002 - Andreas Bajohra
2001 - Ildiko Kemény
2000 - Leslee Udwin