Shooting Stars, Berlin

Actor Michaela Coel shaking hands with a man at the Shooting Stars ceremony in Berlin.

Shooting Stars presents upcoming actors from around Europe at the Berlin International Film Festival each February. As EFP's UK member, we are responsible for nominating a British actor on the verge of breaking through each year, and we have an enviable track record of selecting performers just before they hit international screens.

How to become a European Shooting Star

Each of the 37 member countries of European Film Promotion is invited to nominate a candidate. The final selection is made by an international jury of industry professionals, which decides on the ten most promising and internationally versatile young actors.

The selection changes slightly each year but is largely based on the following criteria:

  • Aged 16-35 years
  • Fluent in English
  • A successful professional career in the UK
  • A leading role in a feature film released in the 24 months prior to the nomination.

Nominations open in September each year. We will next be taking part in the search for a UK Shooting Star in Autumn 2021.

Sign up to our newsletter to receive Shooting Stars updates.

Famous alumni

We have a good record of spotting some pretty impressive UK talent on the cusp of their international breakthroughs. Our past Shooting Star UK nominees include Andrew Garfield five years pre-Spiderman (2012), Rachel Weisz two decades before The Favourite (2018), and Daniel Craig before he'd even dreamt of playing James Bond.

Most recently, in 2018, we were delighted to nominate Michaela Coel, representing the best of UK acting talent following her small screen breakthrough with TV's Chewing Gum, and anticipating her first big screen lead in Tinge Krishnan's Been So Long (2018).

Here's a taster of Michaela's work:

Previous British actors chosen as Shooting Stars by the British Council:

  • 2015 - Maisie Williams
  • 2014 - George MacKay
  • 2012 - Riz Ahmed
  • 2011 - Andrea Riseborough
  • 2010 - Edward Hogg
  • 2009 - Carey Mulligan
  • 2008 - Andrew Garfield
  • 2007 - Kate Dickie
  • 2006 - Lucy Punch
  • 2005 - Archie Panjabi
  • 2004 - Eva Birthistle
  • 2003 - Jamie Sives
  • 2002 - Lucy Russell
  • 2001 - Kate Ashfield
  • 2000 - Daniel Craig
  • 1999 - Kelly Macdonald
  • 1998 - Rachel Weisz

You might also be interested in:


View our range of international opportunities for filmmakers, creatives, professionals and organisations.


Whether you are a new or established filmmaker, festival programmer, actor or film enthusiast, our range of resources can offer support.

Tip: Break up your content into scannable chunks for better readability. A good rule of thumb is to try and stick to one idea per paragraph.

Tip: Be sure to always make link text contextual to what you are writing about, as opposing to 'click here' which should never be used.

A great introduction...

Hero areas have been designed to have some visual impact and promote a single call to action, any more is distracting.

Sign up to our newsletter

Get the latest updates and advice on applications, scholarships, visas and events.